1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Finned differential cover real benefits?

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2019, 05:18 AM
Bugzilla46310
Laughing Gas
Received 280 Likes on 151 Posts
Finned differential cover real benefits?

Besides looking better, in my opinion, and I am a Reliability Engineer so I understand the heat dissipation of the fins and how heat effects oil life, is there any documented data on how much finned differential covers really improve rear end life? I do not believe Flat Bed Ed has one and I do not recall him stating the rear end ever went out. I'm debating getting one, but feel the only benefit would be the looks.

Old 09-25-2019, 05:47 AM
Deuce40s
Posting Guru
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by Bugzilla46310
the only benefit would be the looks.
Agreed. Change the lube a few times each decade with quality stuff and you'll be fine.

Old 09-25-2019, 08:34 AM
crusty old shellback
Senior User
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
It can't hurt.

I have a 2001 that the P.O. installed one from a later year truck. Apparently Ford changed to a finned cover in the later years.

I know while chasing a noise issue, I put my hand on the cover once checking for heat in the diff due to bad bearings. The cover was cool to the touch.

But I also know there is a range of where you want the temp of the oil to reach. So the question is, does the finned cover not allow the oil to reach the proper operating temp?

Old 09-25-2019, 09:03 AM
dirthawg
Posting Guru
Received 22 Likes on 20 Posts
Banks did some research on rear diff covers and posted them to youtube.

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...mizIEj-UX4WBBm

Old 09-25-2019, 10:52 AM
Batman7777
Elder User
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
The video says that this is a brand new design with fins and may work. We'll see he said. I wouldn't trust my rear diff to a brand new, all new design.