Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks

Old Forest Ranger F350 thread

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2020 | 09:00 AM
Muni
|
Junior User
Old Forest Ranger F350 thread

Hi all my name is Dan and this is my first post here as well as my first Ford. I've been looking for a Ford of this generation for about two years and I finally went and picked one up last week. I'm new to trucks and Fords. Most of my car experience has been with subarus. I've done plenty of my own mechanical work so not afraid to get the hands dirty.

A little history about the truck: I bought it from a gentleman in Seattle who got it at auction. Currently it has 124k original miles and is in mostly good mechanical condition. It has the VF 5 speed manual transmission and it shifted smooth from Seattle through my three hour drive home. it was a forest ranger truck up here in Washington most it's life. It was then bought by the University of Oregon and used by the department of oceanography to tow their boat into the pacific ocean and there in lies the catch withtwith vehicle...rust. thankfully the majority of the body and chassis is only surface rust and disappears at the sight of a wire brush. But the guy I bought it from let it sit (under cover) for five years and never addressed the issue so it had a leak on the roof and has a couple other bad spots that need some attention. Other than the rust she is a real beauty. I'll be learning about this truck as I go through the process of fixing her up and hope you guys can help me learn a few things in the process.

For some reason I cannot get photos to upload. It keeps telling me my url is invalid and when I try to just do an upload it stops at 50% and says error. Either way here is a link to copy and paste and you can check her out. I'll get some more photos up soon.

EDIT: figured out the photo situation