Sponsored by:

Considering a new Head Unit, with NAV/DVD...etc? Check this;

Old 05-09-2010, 12:35 PM
JohnnyAirtime
Tuned
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Considering a new Head Unit, with NAV/DVD...etc? Check this;

Okay... I had to share...

I've been steering clear of a new head unit since 2000. See, I owned a 2000 V10, and traded it in for a 2005 PSD. But, for those years I've owned an EX... I've always admired Navigation in the head unit and thought it's just one more thing to steal. Plus, I already used a Garmin streetpilot 7500 for ALL my forward monitor needs (as it did XM, Traffic, Video, MP3, etc) as it was a large 7" display. However, I had to take it down each night, so it wouldn't get stolen (already, one had been stolen via someone wanting it more than me and breaking my side window) as it was in plain sight at the window pillar (passenger side).

I have a buddy, who is a strict Alpine dealer. And I've watched him put in dual din Alpine units on all my buddies vehicles. But, I've always stayed clear due to the Navigation being proprietary and not working with my Garmin based NAV and files (waypoints, tracks, maps...etc). Well, recently I found that Kenwood uses Garmin! WOO HOO! That allows me to upload my maps of Baja, and TOPO ... and upgrade via Garmin if needed. Pretty cool, as now I can remove my Garmin 7500 and solely use my Head Unit. No more large GPS on the pillar.

I found that also, I could integrate my steering wheel controls via a SWI-Jack. Easy enough. I also wanted to be able to use XM, and my iPod. Lastly, I wanted a back up camera... and one that I could also switch on as I'm going down the road (why? I don't know... "just cuz" I suppose). The only dilemna I'm having... is I have to use an antenna adapter (GTM-10) for my Nav Traffic... and I'm still debating if it's worth it or not.