1997 - 2003 F150 1997-2003 F150, 1997-1999 F250LD, 7700 & 2004 F150 Heritage

03 F150 Vacuum 4x4 not working

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2008, 06:33 PM
Alta
Tuned
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 03 F150 Vacuum 4x4 not working

I'm working on a 03 Lariet F150 with vac. controlled 4x4 (I'm new to this one). Transfer case works, ft drive shaft turns, but the front axle wont engauge. The servo works, and the linkage is tight on the shaft, and the shaft turns back and forth, and the ft axle can be engauge manually by working the small lever back and forth with the servo disconnected, but when zip-tied in place it doesnt stay in 4x4, so something is broken, worn out, or disconnected inside the housing.

Also I repositioned the servo back a bit with a spacer to make sure it wasn't a length of travel issue, and is not - the problem is definately inside - the linkage feels sloppy when manipulated with the servo off.

Since Ive never had one of these apart I thought Id ask first (also a new thing for me), so I'd know what parts to get (I dont live "in town"), and I figger this isn't the first one of these to break. So Im sitting down - what am I in for??? It looks pretty straight forward, but somehow I doubt it is...

Thanks,

Rich

Last edited by Alta; 01-29-2008 at 06:37 PM.
Old 01-30-2008, 12:03 PM
Alta
Tuned
Well I sure hope I haven't stumpped the panel on this one.....

I'm also curious about why they went to this system. It's a bit like the posi shift linkage in the rear end of my 78 Case 480 but vacuum operated. Seems primative to me and also not very user servicable - maybe that was the point.